School of Human, Creative and Physical Studies - Home of Haversham House

The subjects delivered in the School of Human, Creative and Physical Studies are:

SCHOOL OF HUMAN, CREATIVE AND PHYSICAL STUDIES STAFF
Assistant Principal (‘Head of School’) Mr Turner e-turner@garthhillcollege.com
Curriculum Team Leader Mr Harris s-harris@garthhillcollege.com
Deputy Curriculum Team Leader Mr Worsell a-worsell@garthhillcollege.com
Subject Leader Art and Design Mrs Saunders j-saunders@garthhillcollege.com
Subject Leader Citizenship Mr Dawson g-dawson@garthhillcollege.com
Subject Leader Performing Arts Mrs Raby a-raby@garthhillcollege.com
Subject Leader Geography Mrs Winsor c-winsor@garthhillcollege.com
Subject Leader Government and Politics Mr Harris s-harris@garthhillcollege.com
Subject Leader Health & Social Care Mrs Pegg r-pegg@garthhillcollege.com
Subject Leader History

Mr Harris

s-harris@garthhillcollege.com 
Subject Leader Music Mrs Stewart s-stewart@garthhillcollege.com
Subject Leader Physical Education Mr Worsell a-worsell@garthhillcollege.com
Subject Leader Religious Studies Mrs Hawkins c-hawkins@garthhillcollege.com
Subject Leader Travel and Tourism Miss Evans i-evans@garthhillcollege.com
WELCOME TO HAVERSHAM HOUSE
Origins - Arthur Divett Hayter, First Baron Haversham

Born  in 1835, Arthur Hayter was the only son of Sir William Hayter, 1st Baronet.  He was educated at Eton and Brasenose College, Oxford and later joined the Grenadier Guards.  Hayter sat as Member of Parliament for 30 years for the Liberal Party, and after succeeding his father in the baronetcy in 1878, he served under William Gladstone as Lord of the Treasury and as Financial Secretary to the War Office from 1882 to 1885.  Hayter chaired the Public Accounts Committee from 1901 to 1905 and was sworn to the Privy Council in 1901.  In 1906, he was raised to the peerage as Baron Haversham of Bracknell.

 

Lord Haversham married Henrietta Hope and they lived at South Hill Park.  They did not have any children and the baronetcy and barony became extinct on Lord Haversham's death in May 1917, aged 81.

 

After the death of Lady Haversham in 1929, South Hill Park passed to Major Rickman, OBE, Lady Haversham's nephew who was the last person to both own and live in South Hill Park as one house.

HAVERSHAM HOUSE STAFF
Head of House Mr Keepence T-Keepence@garthhillcollege.com
Assistant Head of House Mr Laidlaw

r-laidlaw@garthhillcollege.com

 House Mentor Mrs Dixon  s-dixon@garthhillcollege.com
 Admin Support Link Mrs Allison m-allison@garthhillcollege.com